skip to content »

Updating 3dp

updating 3dp-64

That figure was surpassed this year by Ovington’s Craig Nicholl whose ten not outs enabled him to average 99.50 for the champions.

A total of £438 was raised from a raffle on the night to win cricket equipment kindly provided by cricket ball supplier Lords International.The Westow opener amassed 952 runs in the season to win the Les Kirby Award for aggregate runs scored.Last year he topped the division one averages with 61.18.Chris Barrett, who skippered Heworth to the FEL division one title, was named the division’s player of the year after scoring more than 300 runs and claiming 22 dismissals behind the stumps.The division two award went to Salman Syed, who scored 311 runs at an average of 62 for Retreat, and Lee Wild (Hemingbrough) took the division three award after amassing 502 runs.CLICK on the 2017 Award Winners button on the menu on the left of the page to view pictures and a report of Saturday's dinner and awards ceremony. A raffle at the event, held at the Regen Centre, Riccall, raised £438.

Of that amount £219 is being donated to Macmillan Cancer Support RUN machine Mark Earle will pick up his second successive batting award at the HPH York Vale Cricket League presentation evening on Saturday (September 30).

The following officials were re-elected to the management committee: Shane Hargrave, Rich Kerrison, Ian Holmes, Tony Scotter, Rob Gilyeat, Martin Jarred, Mike Hamshere, Dave Milburn, Andy Copeland, Steve Relf and Rob Ellis.

NEW ARRIVAL CONGRATULATIONS are extended to league treasurer, Philip Rawlinson, and his partner Victoria on the birth of Mia April on 5 November at York Hospital.

Both Heartshorne and Arthur-Bagshaw were join runners-up in 2016.

The awards evening also incorporates presentations for the Foss Evening League.

Three more important awards need your submissions: there are two Les Kirby trophies up for grabs – one for the leading run scorer and one for the most wickets taken (league and cup games to count).